Shifty

On Thursday night we were sitting at home when we received a phone call from Josh’s mum saying that the neighbour had found a black kitten on the side of the road. He had been hit by a car. We had a quick look around and although Simba was in the house, we couldn’t find Shifty. My heart sank.

We immediately went to the neighbours and poor Shifty was in a bad way. Although it was 8.30pm we got in the car and headed straight into town to the after hours emergency vet. The vet took an x-ray and he had seriously broken ribs and was having major difficulty breathing. He suggested we leave him there overnight in the oxygen tank and we would assess the situation in the morning. By the time we got home and into bed it was about midnight – I was then up at 6am after a terrible sleep, being so worried about poor Shifty. We called the vet, who was going to take him out of the tank and see how he was doing, but he seemed to be ok.

I arrived at the vet to be told that even though he had come out of the oxygen tank and been running around, he had then crawled back behind the cage and died. It was heartbreaking. I then had to call Josh who came into meet me and pick up Shifty so that I could go to work.

We had always had cats when I was a kid but I was never that bothered when they died or ran away. I never understood when people said they cried for days when a pet died. I mean, they’re only pets right?

Well, I ate my words.
For someone who usually always has a smile on her face, I was flat.
I cried.
A lot.
Luckily for me I work in a very pet friendly environment so everyone was really sympathetic.

I totally underestimated the impact one little kitten could have on us. We only had him a few months!

We had a nice burial for Shifty when I got home that night and sent him off with his favourite little mouse toy.

The worst thing though is that our poor girl Simba is all alone. We’ve discussed it, and although we don’t want to feel like we are replacing Shifty, we are wondering if we should get another kitten to keep her company, given that she’s always had someone to play with. We’ll sleep on it.

But for now, our house is a lot quieter, we are both still very upset, and are having LOTS of cuddles with Simba.

See ya Shifty xx

IMG_6535

One thought on “Shifty

Leave a Reply

