Stir-fry sauce

I’m usually pretty good about what I eat. But then there are certain times of year when you feel like you’ve spent a month eating nothing but cookies and cheese & crackers, drinking too much wine and following it up with dessert every night (yes Christmas, I’m looking at you) and you just think “I need vegetables!!”

i-need-to-start-eating-more-healthy-ecard

You know what I mean?!

I knew it was really bad when I suggested nachos for dinner and Josh asked if we could have something healthy instead!

Lucky for us, this is also the time of year that our garden is chock full of veges. I figured a stir-fry was the best option…only problem being I have never found a stir-fry sauce that I like. They’re all gloopy/too sweet/leave a nasty taste in your mouth. What’s a girl to do? Um, duh…make a sauce!

This girl, Chelsea Winter, is my absolute “go-to” at the moment. She won NZ Masterchef in 2012, I’ve just bought both her cookbooks and I am completely obsessed – so far everything I’ve tried has been amazing and this recipe was no different. I just adjusted the quantities as it was only for the 2 of us and replaced the chillies with capsicum. (We’re not a spicy food family – seriously, we both break into a sweat with sweet chilli sauce!)

The flavours of the sauce were perfect and the whole meal only took 20 minutes to prepare – the only thing I would do differently next time is make more sauce! I made the stir-fry using beef and just the veges I had on hand but you could use absolutely anything and I even think you could use chicken instead of beef.

It was a perfect quick, healthy meal option. I ate it, felt really good about myself then finished my wine, ate a marshmallow Santa and all was right with the world!

Beef stir-fry

Stir-fry sauce

  • Servings: 3-4
  • Print

Ingredients:

400g beef strips
2 cups chopped vegetables (I used broccoli, beans, carrots, zucchini and capsicum)
Rice to serve

Stir-fry sauce
1 tsp sesame oil
1/2 red chilli, deseeded and finely chopped (I left this out)
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 tsp ginger, finely grated
2 TBSP hoisin sauce
2 TBSP soy sauce
1 tsp cornflour mixed with 1/4 cup beef stock

Method:

Heat a dash of oil in a wok or large frying pan over a high heat. When the pan is very hot, add the beef and sear quickly to brown.

Reduce the heat to medium, add the sesame oil, garlic and ginger and stir-fry for a few minutes. Add the hoisin sauce, soy sauce and stock/cornflour mixture and simmer for a few minutes until thickened. Turn the heat to high, add all the vegetables into the pan and stir-fry for another few minutes until the vegetables are bright green and just tender.

Adapted from Chelsea Winter’s Tasty Asian Beef Stirfry

Leave a Reply

