Friday Favourites

Woohoo we made it! Another week done & dusted.There is a Category 5 storm bearing down on NZ this weekend (hopefully it will have calmed down a little by the time it gets to us!) so I think that warrants a weekend inside, reading a book.

In honour of that I figured it was only appropriate to share with you my 5 favourite books of all time (list is subject to change!)

1) Harry Potter, J.K Rowling

Harry_Potter_and_the_Philosopher's_Stone_Book_Cover

You could probably say that this is 7 books but don’t catch me out on a technicality. I was spellbound by these books from the first chapter, and I won’t tell you how many times I have read them all. If you are unfamiliar with Harry Potter (if you have been living under a rock since 1999) it is the story of a boy who lives with his atrocious aunt, uncle and cousin after his parents are killed, finds out he is a wizard and spends the next 7 years (books) at Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry learning magic and trying to overcome the powerful Voldemort who killed his parents when Harry was a baby. Phew. That does not even begin to explain the awesomeness of these books. They are so magical and transport you to a whole new world. These are also one of the very few book-to-movies I thought were really well done.

2) The Help, Kathryn Stockett

Thehelpbookcover

The only book I have ever read cover to cover, and then started again immediately. May have had something to do with the fact that at the time I had my life in a backpack and no room for more than 1 book, but this one was SO good! Set in Mississippi in 1962 it is the story of Skeeter, a young white girl who joins forces with 2 black maids to share their stories. It’s sassy, hilarious and touching all in one. There’s also a movie which was fantastic!

3) Little House on the Prairie, Laura Ingalls Wilder

9780140302042

I was 8 years old the first time my teacher handed me this book and I remember it so clearly. This book is the actually the third in the “Little House” series that chronicles the childhood and young adult life of Laura Ingalls, growing up on the Western frontier in the late 1800s and early 1900s. This whole series is my absolute all time favourite – there are enough covered wagons, Indians, sun-bonnets, mustangs and tin cups to make me wish I could go back in time and live in this time…just for a little while. Plus I think I may have been Laura in a past life. True story.

4) The Elephant Whisperer, Lawrence Anthony

41LJLhO8E1L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

The incredible story of a guy (Lawrence Anthony) who runs a game reserve in Zululand. Against his better judgement he took in a herd of rogue wild elephants that would otherwise have been killed and in this book he shares the lessons he learnt from this herd of elephants and the bond that developed between them. I love Africa, and elephants are my favourite animals so this book was a guaranteed winner!

5) The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Stieg Larsson

Girl-with-the-Dragon-Tattoo-UK

For someone who loves fantasy books I have a strange obsession with thriller/murder/mystery books. This book (and the 2 that follow) had me hooked – I could not put them down! They had just the right balance of suspense, drama and romance…they are too complex to summarise in a sentence so read this if you want a better idea. Or just get the book and read it. You won’t regret it!

Happy Friday everyone! I’m off to bed with a book!

Leave a Reply

