The Easiest Homemade Vanilla Ice-cream

Vanilla ice-cream (9)

I realise I’ve been on a bit of an ice-cream kick lately with my strawberry ice-cream and now this but I’m holding on to summer for as long as I can. {Yes, I’m that girl in the office who wears sandals even though her toes are about to break off just because she’s stubborn.}

I’m a big fan of making ice-cream at home but I’ve never found a vanilla ice-cream that I love. They’re all custard based/use 5 egg yolks/require cooking or are just plain complicated and taste weird. I mean they’re good, but they just don’t have that soft, creamy consistency of the store bought ice-cream that I love so much.

And then I discovered this recipe for Easy Homemade Ice Cream without a Machine from Kevin and Amanda. It looked way too good to be true but I can assure you, it’s not. I’ve made it twice in the last couple of weeks and knew that it would just be mean to keep it from you! Not only is it extremely easy to make, it has that perfect soft texture that I had been searching for! And tastes divine.

Ever better, it is the perfect base for any creation under the sun. So far I’ve kept it simple – this vanilla ice-cream, and last time I put a salted caramel swirl through it – but the possibilities are endless.

It couldn’t be more simple. Pour 250mls of cream into a mixer bowl and whip it. Whip it good. I went there…sorry. Just until stiff peaks form.

Vanilla ice-cream (4)

In a separate bowl pour a tin of condensed milk and add 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Mix it all together.

Vanilla ice-cream (3)

Vanilla ice-cream (13)

Pour the condensed milk mixture into the whipped cream,

Vanilla ice-cream (5)

And fold together until it looks and feels like a cloud. Delightful. Pour into a freezable container and throw it in the freezer.

Vanilla ice-cream (6)

That’s it.

Promise.

Nope, not even joking. Let it freeze overnight and then eat to your hearts content.

Vanilla ice-cream (9)

But I highly recommend drizzling salted caramel sauce all over it.

Vanilla ice-cream (12)

But just whatever makes you happy. (This ice-cream sure will!)

The Easiest Homemade Vanilla Ice-Cream

  • Time: Prep 10 minutes, Freezing time overnight
  • Print

IngredientsVanilla ice-cream (9)

250ml cream
1 x 395g can condensed milk
1 tsp vanilla extract

Method

Whip cream until stiff peaks form (about 10 minutes)

In a separate bowl mix together condensed milk and vanilla.

Pour condensed milk mixture into the whipped cream and fold together until combined.

Pour into a freezer proof container and freeze overnight.

10 thoughts on “The Easiest Homemade Vanilla Ice-cream

    • Laura says:

      I love that about it too! I have an ice-cream maker but this is just so good that I make this more than I use my ice-cream maker! =) There is nothing as good as a simple vanilla!

Leave a Reply

