Homemade Burger Patties (Josh’s secret recipe)

I do a lot of the cooking in our house but when it comes to homemade burgers I am given my marching orders.

I’ve made burger patties before, and they’re ok I guess, but when Josh gets in the kitchen and makes a burger, I’m telling you, it’s like no other burger you will ever eat.

IMG_2064

This is a big call, but I’m making it.Β Josh makes the BEST burger patties around. And I’ve eaten a lot of burgers.

And guess what – he let me take photos and tell you about it!Β Today is the best day ever.

I’d never even watched him make the patties before. And I’ll admit, even as I was watching I was thinking…hmmm, that is not how I would do it. I take it back. I take it all back. If I ever have to make a burger patty again (and I hope Josh always makes them for me) this is exactly how I will do them. And how you should too.

Crack 2 eggs into a bowl and whisk up.

IMG_2013

Add the breadcrumbs, and mix them into the eggs.

IMG_2014

Add the mixed herbs,

IMG_2018

Beef stock cube (don’t leave this out…I’m pretty sure it’s the secret ingredient)

IMG_2015

Crushed garlic,

IMG_2019

And a squeeze of BBQ sauce

Homemade Burger Patties

And mix that all up.

Homemade Burger Patties

Add your mince and get in there with your hands and mix it all together.

Homemade Burger Patties

Homemade Burger Patties

Split the mixture into 4 and shape into patties. Normal people might make 6 patties out of this much mince but Josh likes to make man patties. Big is good!

Look at that patty! Yuuuuu-um.

IMG_2027

Coat them lightly in flour.

IMG_2031

And put em in the frypan.

IMG_2035

Fry for about 7-8 minutes on either side until they are cooked through. TIP…cover the pan with a lid and they will cook through better.

IMG_2037

IMG_2039

And make the most epic burger ever.

IMG_2055

No other burger will ever compare.

Josh's Homemade Burger Patties

  • Servings: 4 burgers
  • Print

INGREDIENTSHomemade Burger Patties

500 grams minced beef
2 eggs
1/2 cup breadcrumbs
1 tsp mixed herbs
1 1/2 tsp crushed garlic
1 beef stock cube (about 1 tsp powder)
2 TBSP BBQ sauce

Method

Crack 2 eggs into a bowl and whisk together.Β Add the breadcrumbs and whisk again. Add mixed herbs, garlic, beef stock cube and BBQ sauce and combine.

Add mince and mix it all together using your hands.

Split the mixture into 4 (or 6 if you prefer smaller burgers) and shape into patties.

Coat them lightly in flour and fry until cooked through (about 7-8 minutes each side).

Put the burger in a bun, add your salads and sauces and enjoy the best burger ever!

11 thoughts on “Homemade Burger Patties (Josh’s secret recipe)

Leave a Reply

